Switch to Forum Live View Shinto and Paganism?
5 years ago  ::  Dec 10, 2008 - 11:00PM #1
Daii
Hello! This is my first post so please be gentle ; ;...

I have been a pagan follower for 9+ years and have also had a large interest in Japanese culture, language, you name it.  I was wondering, how alike are they? (Shinto and Paganism)

They seem VERY similiar to me, but I have no real knowledge of shinto aside from books and the web. My reasoning behind the similarities is animism, nature-based, and multiple dieties... am I wrong? Sorry if my ignorance is angering...
Quick Reply
Cancel
5 years ago  ::  Mar 04, 2009 - 8:25PM #2
Katsuninken

This is probably too little, way too late, but in the event that you hadn't found your answers yet, I want to toss in my two cents.

You are right in that most Pagan paths, especially traditions like Wicca, are very similar to Shinto.

There are altars and incense and statuary and all that, but it is also similar in that Shinto also has four cardinal directions that correspond to primary elements and guarded by protectors. They even have animals associated with them like many Pagan paths do, called shijin (sometimes shishin). Also analogous to syncretic Wicca that uses the Watchtowers of Christian mysticism, syncretic Shinto, like Shugendo, has the Shitenno (which are the Four Buddhist Heavenly Kings).

Most Pagan paths also have a hierarchy structure when it comes to deities, ranging from heavenly deities to manifest deities, just as Shinto does. Many Pagans believe that their gods are in everything, and Shinto holds this belief as well. A rock, tree, even people.  In fact, just as in many Celtic traditions, many of the kami were once mortals that ascended through living extraordinary lives or through veneration.