Page 1 of 3  •  1 2 3 Next
Switch to Forum Live View SGI vs. Nichiren Shu
6 years ago  ::  Aug 21, 2008 - 11:12AM #1
H82Diet
Hi,
I am new to Nichiren Buddhism so I did not go through the breakup between SGI and Nichiren Shu.  I've read about it a bit but only from the SGI perspective.  At a community center meeting recently they made an announcement that we should chant for the Nichiren Shu to abandon their erroneous teachings.  I am not clear on what this means.  I recently read a Nichiren Shu publication and it was wonderful.  Is their no chance of reconciliation between the two groups?  Any insight would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you!

Lynn
To listen to Nichiren Chanting music go to:
www.AlanSmallwood.com
Quick Reply
Cancel
6 years ago  ::  Aug 21, 2008 - 11:12AM #2
H82Diet
Hi,
I am new to Nichiren Buddhism so I did not go through the breakup between SGI and Nichiren Shu.  I've read about it a bit but only from the SGI perspective.  At a community center meeting recently they made an announcement that we should chant for the Nichiren Shu to abandon their erroneous teachings.  I am not clear on what this means.  I recently read a Nichiren Shu publication and it was wonderful.  Is their no chance of reconciliation between the two groups?  Any insight would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you!

Lynn
www.AlanSmallwood.com
Quick Reply
Cancel
6 years ago  ::  Aug 21, 2008 - 1:53PM #3
Engyo
[QUOTE=H82Diet;706454]Hi,
Thank you!

Lynn
www.AlanSmallwood.com[/QUOTE]Hi, Lynn -

Respectfully, you have made a fundamental error here.  SGI was NEVER affiliated with Nichiren Shu.  SGI was once a lay organization of Nichiren SHOshu.  Nichiren Shoshu and Nichiren Shu are two VERY different Nichiren schools.