Page 1 of 5  •  1 2 3 4 5 Next
7 years ago  ::  Jan 02, 2008 - 3:30PM #1
Wendy87
Hi! I'm new 'round here.You'll see I've been reading about Buddhism for 2 years but I've a bug doubt. I just don't know which school suites me the best. I'll tell what I believe in, and what I'm like and I'd be really gratefull if you could help me:

I am atheist.I just don't believe in any supernatural being.
I'm into a lesbian relationship.
I'm a physicist.
I believe that after out death we rebirth in another person or another living thing, but we don't notice it, that is, we live as a person...then we die..and suddenly we're living as another person ut we don't remember anything.
I think Buddha's saying were really interesting but I don't see him a god, just as a god person.

What school do you thing that suites me the best?

Thank you very much for reading me.
Quick Reply
Cancel
7 years ago  ::  Jan 02, 2008 - 10:57PM #2
ronnewmexico
HI

I am Tibetan Buddhist and not really qualified to speak of other forms of Buddhism , and I have but a limited laypersons understanding of Tibetan Buddhism, but there are no other replies, so I will venture one.

The biggest hurdle for a westerner to tackle in my estimation is the lack of a creator God and permanent soul, in Tibetan Buddhism. Many integrate this concept regardless, I'd guess just because it is very difficult to seperate oneself from ideas born into.  This is possibly why the Dali Lama says one should stay with the religion of their cultural upbringing generally. But you have already eliminated this concept. So it may be very much easier for you. It is generally easier for one to find compassionate action in the religion of their culture but I can see how that would be very difficult sharing that particular view of no creator God.