Page 9 of 9  •  Prev 1 ... 4 5 6 7 8 9
Switch to Forum Live View BoM as American Literature
2 years ago  ::  Jun 30, 2012 - 9:03PM #81
Habala?!

Jun 30, 2012 -- 6:57PM, moksha8088 wrote:

Jun 30, 2012 -- 12:29AM, Habala?! wrote:

Don't go blaming the Velveeta on the Germans.

Velveeta would never make it as a French cheese.  It is soft at room temperature rather than runny and it does not have a pungent odor, nor do the French go in for Philadelphia sandwiches with Cheese Whiz. The French know that good Philadelphia sandwiches use provolone cheese.

As a culinary graduate I know of le fromages français. I don't go for Cheese Whiz Philly cheesesteaks. I too enjoy them with provolone, but imagine one, if you will, with gruyere. I know the Italians think the king of cheese is Parmegiano-Reggiano is the king of cheese, but they are mistaken. It is a fine cheese, however it is a false king.  All hail gruyere! The true king of cheese!

"When you walk, you might like to take the hand of a child. She will receive your concentration and stability, and you will receive her freshness and innocence." -Tich Naht Hanh
Quick Reply
Cancel
2 years ago  ::  Jun 30, 2012 - 9:06PM #82
Habala?!

Jun 30, 2012 -- 7:20PM, mecdukebec wrote:

Jun 30, 2012 -- 7:12PM, moksha8088 wrote:

Jun 30, 2012 -- 7:06PM, mecdukebec wrote:

The French avoid le Philadelphie, just like one would avoid Teutons in a sauna bath (i.e. "Matches here ist verbotten to be lit, thanks to the gaz.").

Likewise, they would never send any Canadian girls with a lisp to Wisconsin in fear that they could come back Thor.

Men with hammers, that's an Anglo fantasy.  I prefer Labradors and strawberries. 

This Anglophone only wields wooden weapons (staffs, bokken, ect.), aside from my shotgun that is.

"When you walk, you might like to take the hand of a child. She will receive your concentration and stability, and you will receive her freshness and innocence." -Tich Naht Hanh
Quick Reply
Cancel