Page 3 of 14  •  Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 14 Next
Switch to Forum Live View Two Choices: Christian or Magician
2 years ago  ::  Feb 08, 2012 - 5:48PM #21
tfvespasianus

Feb 8, 2012 -- 5:06PM, Heretic_for_Christ wrote:

Feb 8, 2012 -- 4:36PM, davelaw40 wrote:

Feb 8, 2012 -- 4:10PM, Heretic_for_Christ wrote:

... What Jesus taught was profound spiritual truth, and the truth is not dependent on a miracle to validate it...

Could you please name a truth that Jesus taught that was different and distinct from His contemporaries.

How about the idea that not only is murder wrong but the rage that might impel one toward murder is wrong (Matthew 5:21-22)? Most Christians interpret this as meaning that we are guilty merely for feeling anger, which is nonsense; I believe it means that we must not stew in anger but let go of it--because anger is one of the things that cloaks and supresses the light of God from within.

I am no expert in the teachings of the ancient world, but I have believed that this is a unique insight.

Actually, I have oft heard it mentioned that the 'antitheses' (i.e. you have heard it said X, but I tell you Y) are in line with a practice that was known as 'building a hedge (or fence) around the Torah'. That is, as there is surely a certain amount of room for interpretation and one wouldn't want to run afoul of the Law, so it might be a good idea to err on the side of caution (or so the thinking went). Thus, in the example under discussion, murder is a long way off if you are not angry with your brother in the first place. In any case, someone would a greater knowledge than I on the subject could probably confirm or deny this idea.

Ubi solitudinem faciunt pacem appellant - Tacitus
Quick Reply
Cancel
2 years ago  ::  Feb 08, 2012 - 6:01PM #22
davelaw40

Feb 8, 2012 -- 5:06PM, Heretic_for_Christ wrote:

Feb 8, 2012 -- 4:36PM, davelaw40 wrote:

Feb 8, 2012 -- 4:10PM, Heretic_for_Christ wrote: