Switch to Forum Live View What is Traditional Christianity?
3 years ago  ::  Nov 23, 2011 - 12:00AM #1
subtleguy01

I was mildly rebuked by a good friend for suggesting that Christians of Protestant belief were practicing Traditional Christianity. My friend suggested that Eastern Orthodox and Roman Catholic Christianity was Traditional and that Protestants practice of Christianity is non-traditional.

I was curious when reading his thoughts and frankly, I'm still wondering? What is Traditional Christianity and are Christian Protestants practicing it? 

Quick Reply
Cancel
3 years ago  ::  Nov 23, 2011 - 10:17AM #2
world citizen

I'm not an expert on the subject by any means but, since the (Protestant) Reformation took place 1400 years after the appearance of Christ on earth, and the Roman and Greek churches had been established for almost that many years before the Reformation, it would seem that those two are the "traditional" churches of Christianity.

That being said, it also would seem that with the Protestant removal of the idolotry of saints (statues), relics, etc., the back-to-basics approach of Protestants probably more closely resembles how the faith was practiced in its early days before all the manmade embellishments and rituals were introduced by the "Church."

The argument could go either way.

Blessed is he who mingleth with all men in a spirit of utmost kindliness and love. ~Baha'u'llah
Quick Reply
Cancel
3 years ago  ::  Dec 13, 2011 - 2:56PM #3
GodsGarden

Let me state a bias up-front.  I generally think any statement that says "Protestants believe..." or "Protestants do...." is inaccurate.  There is much variation among denominations.