4 years ago  ::  Apr 03, 2011 - 9:36PM #1
Jupiter6208
What is the story with the two? I have heard they have had a Rocky Relationship in the past  and what was it regarding.
"A person who is nice to you, but rude to the waiter, is not a nice person."  Dave Berry

You will not be punished for your anger, you will be punished by your anger. Buddha.

Great minds discuss ideas; average minds discuss events; small minds discuss people.
Eleanor Roosevelt
Quick Reply
Cancel
4 years ago  ::  Apr 04, 2011 - 12:30PM #2
JCarlin

Apr 3, 2011 -- 9:36PM, Jupiter6208 wrote:

What is the story with the two? I have heard they have had a Rocky Relationship in the past  and what was it regarding.

I am not an expert or even a member anymore of either denomination.  I infrequently attend both when I can't find a friend to take me to a more traditional service.  As I see it there is little conflict.  Both denominations are trying to get to a liberal, inclusive, thoughtful community from different ends of the theology spectrum.  UU come from the Universalist tradition where all are saved if necessary, and God and Jesus are inspirational entities, with no special powers.  UCC comes from the traditional Christian viewpoint where God exists as a supernatural being, and Jesus is part of the Godhead.  In practice the only real difference is that if the mention of God offends you, you might find most UU Churches more comfortable.  If God and the traditional Christian ritual prayers don't offend you, you don't have to believe them to enjoy a UCC service, but it is considered bad form to shout BS instead of Amen. 

J'Carlin
If the shoe doesn't fit, don't cram your foot in it and complain.
Quick Reply
Cancel
4 years ago  ::  Apr 06, 2011 - 1:18PM #3
jamlawken

Apr 4, 2011 -- 12:30PM, JCarlin wrote:

Apr 3, 2011 -- 9:36PM, Jupiter6208 wrote:

UCC comes from the traditional Christian viewpoint where God exists as a supernatural being, and Jesus is part of the Godhead.