Page 1 of 807  •  1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 807 Next
Switch to Forum Live View The 'existence' of gods
4 years ago  ::  Jul 07, 2010 - 4:18AM #1
Kwinters

In another thread, one of the subthemes is the existence of gods.

I will admit that the ontological status of gods, based upon theists' accounts, utterly baffles me.

Now, one way we can think of existence that is quite simple and intuitive is materialism - ' that the only thing that exists is matter; that all things are composed of material and all phenomena (including consciousness) are the result of material interactions. In other words, matter is the only substance.' (wiki)

That is an account that I am perfectly happy with in terms of describing our physical existence.  Matter is what constitutes all the physical properties we observe and theorise in our universe.

However, as a social scientist I am also open to reconceptualising 'ontology' not only as 'what exists' but also an investigation into how things can exist.  Therefore I am intersted in the ontological status of 'social facts'.

For instance, does democracy 'exist'?  Surely democracy does not exist in the same way in which rock or human brain activity exist.  We can't go out and get some 'democracy' and put it under a microscope to analyse it's properties.

And yet, for human beings, the 'existence' of a functioning democracy in their place of residence has a profound impact upon their lives: compare living in Europe with North Korea.  Clearly the observation that in democracies political legitimacy lies with the people is a social fact.

How, then, does democracy 'exist'?  To be fair, I don't want to spend too much time discussing difference conceptualisations of the ontological status of social facts.  My purpose is rather to point to the fact that we can have flexibility in our approach to the concept of 'existence'.