Important Announcement

See here for an important message regarding the community which has become a read-only site as of October 31.

Page 1 of 10  •  1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10 Next
8 years ago  ::  May 24, 2010 - 8:42PM #1
sharktacos

I am a Christian seminary student interested in learning more about the Jewish faith.

Walter Brueggemann has described the Hebrew Scriptures as having multiple competing "witnesses," different narratives each competing to be the one true description of God. As many have pointed out (Karen Armstrong being a popular example) there is clearly in the Hebrew Scriptures a narrative of the tribal violent warrior God, yet the majority of Jews would describe God as being primarily being a God who is loving and gracious towards all humanity.

As a Christian I agree with this, and would also prioritize this narrative of a gracious and loving God as well as the key aspect of God's character, and seek to understand the other narratives within that bigger story. So I am happy to see that there is a commonality here.

Here's my question: In so doing we have both prioritized this narrative of a loving gracious God over the warrior narrative. I agree with this prioritization, yet as a Christian I get to this through the New Testament. I would like to learn how Jews get to the same place as I do without use of the New Testament.

thanks!

Quick Reply
Cancel
8 years ago  ::  May 24, 2010 - 9:00PM #2
Heidi2027

Karen Armstrong writes with a pro-Islamist slant for all practical purposes. 

To portray Jehovah as a god of war makes it easier to neutralize "Allah's" violent nature.

More perspectives:

www.faithfreedom.org/4284

Quick Reply
Cancel
8 years ago  ::  May 24, 2010 - 9:17PM #3
sharktacos

I'm not really interested in Armstrong per se.

I'd rather have a response to the larger question I am posing here.

Quick Reply
Cancel
8 years ago  ::  May 24, 2010 - 9:48PM #4
Heidi2027