Post Reply
Page 1 of 2  •  1 2 Next
Switch to Forum Live View Felafal not Kosher on Passover
5 years ago  ::  Apr 01, 2010 - 12:35PM #1
Amin21
Posts: 4,643
Went to my local grocery, which I love, because it has a variety of Mideast food in the Kosher section...

But apparently falafel isn't kosher during Passover?

The way we do it is mainly spices, chick peas and baking powder...  but no yeast, So what is not kosher about it on Passover... Humus seems to fall under the rules as well...
Quick Reply
Cancel
5 years ago  ::  Apr 01, 2010 - 1:06PM #2
rangerken
Posts: 16,408

Hopefully one of our Jewish members will jump in and solve this awesome problem Smile.


Ken

Libertarian, Conservative, Life member of the NRA and VFW
Quick Reply
Cancel
5 years ago  ::  Apr 01, 2010 - 1:11PM #3
Amin21
Posts: 4,643
I was utterly mortified when I discovered I couldn't have a felafal sandwich!

I hope they do shed light on it...
Quick Reply
Cancel
5 years ago  ::  Apr 01, 2010 - 3:22PM #4
ffb
Posts: 2,220

chickpeas, at the heart of a felafel, are "kitniyot" legumes which, according to the ashkenazic custom, must be treated similarly to chometz (chometz only refers to the 5 grains, not to yeast).


 


www.oukosher.org/index.php/passover/arti...


www.oukosher.org/index.php/passover/arti...


the second deals with legumes.


often, though, a general supermarket will not get rid of its kosher food holdings which are not for passover so you can still find the occasional felafel mix or premade balls. a strictly kosher store will close off those aisles.

Quick Reply
Cancel
5 years ago  ::  Apr 01, 2010 - 3:30PM #5
Amin21
Posts: 4,643
Hmmmm... Most of the aisles in the Kosher section had sections cut off, but the refridgerated Humus was left out, probably because others buy it...

The Felafel in this case was a deli product, so it simply wasn't made.
Quick Reply
Cancel
5 years ago  ::  Apr 01, 2010 - 3:32PM #6
Amin21
Posts: 4,643
So some eat chickpeas some don't is what I am getting out of this...

thanks for the info...
Quick Reply
Cancel
5 years ago  ::  Apr 01, 2010 - 10:36PM #7
JAstor
Posts: 3,957

Apr 1, 2010 -- 3:32PM, Amin21 wrote:

So some eat chickpeas some don't is what I am getting out of this... thanks for the info...




Pita is a bread product (leaven). That's a no-no on Passover.

Quick Reply
Cancel
5 years ago  ::  Apr 02, 2010 - 9:57AM #8
Amin21
Posts: 4,643
Yes but for pita I have the non-Kosher sections of my grocery store...

Falafel not so much...

That's ok.. I got some pita and spicy hummus and put feta and banana peppers on it and made a sandwich it was a good lunch and cheaper than the cafeteria at my work.
Quick Reply
Cancel
5 years ago  ::  Apr 02, 2010 - 2:41PM #9
Merope
Posts: 10,168

This thread was moved from Middle East News & Politics.



Merope
Beliefnet Community Host
Middle East News & Politics

Merope | Beliefnet Community Manager
Problems? Send a message to Beliefnet_community
Quick Reply
Cancel
5 years ago  ::  Apr 02, 2010 - 3:27PM #10
LeahOne
Posts: 16,396

Oh, good - now Amin can learn all about kitiniyot, too : ))  


Thanks, Merope : ))

Quick Reply
Cancel
Page 1 of 2  •  1 2 Next
 
    Viewing this thread :: 0 registered and 1 guest
    No registered users viewing
    Advertisement

    Beliefnet On Facebook