Page 1 of 3  •  1 2 3 Next
Switch to Forum Live View Download It And Weep
7 years ago  ::  Mar 24, 2008 - 7:38PM #1
MrBear
http://www.abc.net.au/rn/counterpoint/s … 195775.htm

‘The downside of the internet.’

Download LISTEN and weep

‘Against the Machine: Being Human in the Age of the Electronic’ Mob’ by Lee Siegel
http://www.popmatters.com/pm/books/revi … ee-siegel/

Siegel covers EVERY ASPECT of the  abhorrent Internet behaviours that I have been writing and complaining about for the past ten years.

The hiding behind pseudonym as a shield device for slander and lie.
The promulgation of ‘anything goes’ fabrication, fraud and invention
The clinical narcissism of “It’s my pov it must be valid…I can say what I like”
The pretence that these behaviours have something to do with ‘Democracy, Freedom of Speech or Divine Right to self expression’.
The employment of false and unsubstantiated allegation, innuendo slander and vilification as tools of intimidation.
The absence of reading/listening while you ‘project’  your own inner dialogue onto others.
The ‘empowerment’ of withholding, not answering pertinent questions.
The foul and abhorrent online behaviours that in the world would evoke immediate sanction but online evoke mob mentality silence or joining in.

I drove home yesterday listening to the interview with Siegel thinking- “S&%$!....He gets to write a book about it…all I got to do was identify these behaviours within the Online Baha’i community and get called an “Enemy of the Faith” for doing so”!

Do yourselves a favour….go give the interview a good long listen….>twice over<.
because >every single< abhorrent behaviour Siegel identifies has had a Thread dedicated to it when it manifested on Beliefnet Baha’i boards…..and the response was more of the same behaviour.

And don’t kid yourselves…being a Baha’i did not curb or inhibit these widespread Net behaviours….the mob mentality and misplaced desire to Defend the Faith amplified and exaggerated the behaviours.