Page 1 of 13  •  1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 13 Next
6 years ago  ::  Apr 07, 2008 - 3:08PM #1
Godman
Abner, if I may I'll use your technique of arguing the trivial.  Your argument is premised on the three following totally, unequivocally false assertions:

1) He claims that atheists cannot have hope.
2) He claims that atheists live in despair.
3) He claims that atheists cannot have a center, that we cannot have ideals.

All three assertions have in common the construction "He claims that atheists ,,,,"  This is a present tense construction so it is a simple matter to see if I were making any such claim at 11:57 on Sunday, April 6th.  I know for a fact what I was doing and I was making no such claims.  I was planting our family garden with my children.  At 11:57 we were putting in Burpee snap peas.  I can provide a picture with a time stamp if I had to.

Furthermore I am a trained social scientist and would never use those overgeneralisations. 

"To me one of the most interesting questions is how the scientist got hysterical compared to the pope. This global warming hysteria must have a rational explanation and it seems the most probable is the atheistic scientist having no God to give them hope, have projected their collective despair onto their computer models, and voila the world is going to end. The only question is have we already passed the tipping point on the upcoming climatic disaster."

If you read the above, the queston at hand is how did the scientists get hysterical relative to the pope.  Then I mention my working rational explanation, hoping the atheists on this board can come up with a competing rational explanation.  Many have.  Mostly the approach has been to say the world is indeed going to end.  Atheists defend the world is going to end belief.