6 years ago  ::  Sep 25, 2008 - 11:17PM #1
Truth27
Hello,

This might be a bit controversial to the rare practitioner of traditional African religion who might read this (specifically Yoruba--the most widespread indigenous African practice--originally derived from the Nigeria-Benin area).  But here it goes:

I am studying Mahayana Buddhism (SGI branch).  Hence, I have been acquainted with the teaching that, throughout and beyond human existence, entities have arisen all over the globe who, within the specific cultural context in which they lived, reached sustained enlightened states.  Thus they were infinitely wise and compassionate in their administration of teachings that informed and enriched the quality of life of the members of their societies.  I see this process as the ultimate source of all sustained, fruitful religious practices and principles; including indigenous African ones. 

Thus, see established spiritual wisdom as linked through the workings of the Ultimate Law of the Universe/Nibbana/Cause and Effect/Karma.  In this sense, as I am most familiar with Yoruba, I would like to demonstrate one way to understand the various deities within the context of the states of consciousness encountered by all human beings as a natural basal condition of their lives (even Buddhas to some extent).

-Ten Realms of Existence (Nichiren Buddhism/SGI subsect) econciled within a traditional African spiritual context:

**(Key: Realm = Deity - Explanation/Connection)**

1) Hell = Ellegua - A place of suffering and confusion.  A key inspiration/motivation for the Buddhist Quest.  This ties into the Deity Ellegua NOT because he is the 'devil' (as some claim), but because he is the trickster who stirs confusion that can lead to a suffering for those fooled that leads to spiritual growth.