Page 1 of 2  •  1 2 Next
Switch to Forum Live View Does Shaman = Teacher?
6 years ago  ::  Jul 30, 2008 - 3:30PM #1
kraventhearcher
In another thread here (Drugs and Shamanism), it was mentioned that being a Shaman and being a Teacher are the same.
Do you hold this to be true?
If so, why? If not, why not?
Quick Reply
Cancel
6 years ago  ::  Aug 01, 2008 - 7:30AM #2
kraventhearcher
I say no.
I think that some people hold a predilection for Shamanism. However, not all people are good teachers.
Like me. :-) I'm a pretty horrible teacher.
Quick Reply
Cancel
6 years ago  ::  Aug 01, 2008 - 12:24PM #3
Whisperingal
Lol.

I know what you mean.

I've been thinking a lot about this question--IMO it's a good one.

It's also quite complicated because so many Shamans traditionally had apprentices and contemporary shamanic practitioners do as well.

Yet I agree that it is not a calling that everyone receives or is suited for.

Additionally--se ewhat I mean about complicated?--it could be said that any time a Shamanic practitioner passes on info that has been revealed to them in journey--that they are functioing as teachers for those who receive the info.

What do you think about that diea?
Quick Reply
Cancel
6 years ago  ::  Aug 01, 2008 - 2:08PM #4
kraventhearcher
I think that's a great question/idea to present, that's what!

Sure, I'd say that anytime you share an experience, pass along a message, or even tell someone about Shamanism, you're both teacher and student. As most teachers are.

I gave a message to a guy about 4ish years ago. I had NO idea what it meant. Turns out, he did. And, he explained things to me in detail including detail that I hadn't marked as important (oh, look. a carrot plant or whatever) that turned out to be pretty consequential. He was a Shaman of some experience and that was one of the only times I ever really talked nakedly about Shamanism with him. And, he died very shortly afterward.