Important Announcement

See here for an important message regarding the community which has become a read-only site as of October 31.

Switch to Forum Live View Catholic Catechumenate, Newbie
3 years ago  ::  Jan 04, 2015 - 10:34PM #1
Leeloo
Hello!

My name's Hailee, and I'm a 20yr old college student. I was recently married in April, and live on my campus with my husband and my cat.

I'm currently converting to Catholicism, which has been a long process which began in early childhood. My extended family is very Catholic (I'm Irish-Italian), but my parents had me very young, so was never baptised, and grew up surrounded by incense and moon meditations. I called myself "Wiccan" from the time I was 10 to about 18.

Although my husband isn't baptised either, I credit him, as well as my extended family members, who brought me to Christ. He's not a churchgoer now, but he has always believed in Jesus Christ. I met him at 17, and because of him I finally began to give Christianity a serious look.

At Christmastime when I was 18, I felt a sudden and rather alien need to go to Church, and my grandfather, a born-again Christian, gave me a Bible, The Message. After that, my faith began to snowball into something I couldn't ignore.

Unfortunately for me, although my husband was the spark which ignited my spiritual fire, and the one to whom I feel bound by God, he does not like the Catholic Church. He calls it a "bloated bureaucracy", and feels that the only thing that should be important in one's faith is their personal relationship with Jesus Christ. He does his best to support me and remain quiet, but his dislike of Catholicism still shows through.

Is there anyone who has run into a similar issue like this? All I really know to do about it is pray.
Quick Reply
Cancel
3 years ago  ::  Feb 17, 2015 - 12:39PM #2
Pinkspoonbill