Page 1 of 2  •  1 2 Next
Switch to Forum Live View 20's a Selfish Time?
6 years ago  ::  Nov 19, 2008 - 12:28AM #1
PxieDst16
Hello!
I'm new to beliefnet. My name is Jessica. Anyway, I had a question for ya'll. I've been realizing how wrapped up in myself and my life I have been since my teens. I have sort of always been aware of it but now I'm starting to truly care. I find myself getting exhausted with all the focus put on finding myself and keeping things relative to myself only. Does anyone else find that they dislike how self centered this time is? I get sick of the ego.
Jessica
Quick Reply
Cancel
6 years ago  ::  Nov 20, 2008 - 5:04PM #2
kimburi
Jessica,
I think that in "American" society we (the 20 somethings) have been told since, well for our whole lives that we are special, we are unique and we are the center of our universe.  It is only natural that we would be selfish.  It is also part of growing up to realise that there are more people out there than just yourself so I am glad that you are seeing that now.  What do you do when you get sick of the ego?
Personally I have those days when I feel like, I only talk about myself, but then I think that my own life if the only reference that i have to the world, and until I have a family  and become a mother this is how I imagine I will live my life.  I got over the ego in as much as a single american female can, by starting to work in the church, seeing the troubles that so many people face is nauseating and it's a real wake up call to see the issues facing teenagers, refugees, the hungry, homeless, sick and suffering in the world.
so my question to you again is what are you doing about your ego?
Kim
Quick Reply
Cancel
6 years ago  ::  Nov 20, 2008 - 9:16PM #3
PxieDst16
Hi Kim!