Page 1 of 19  •  1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 19 Next
Switch to Forum Live View Wine Without Pretention
7 years ago  ::  Apr 14, 2008 - 7:46PM #1
boodlebear
I wanted to start this thread because wine is a community drink, bringing family and friends together sharing laughter and warmth, fellowship and love. Sometimes wine can also be intimidating. And one might feel embarrassed to ask for help. Maybe with this thread some of the questions can be answered.
I am a new wine drinker. I've been tasting wine for the last three years at my local wine shop. I will forever be grateful to Josh for the world he had opened up for me. I enjoy discussing the merits of wine and when going into a run -of- the -mill restaurant I know if I'll like what's on the list. Wine is first and foremost all about what you like. Not some wine taster with the big name of the big name wine magazines. So what if Robert Parker gave this particular wine 95 pt. (duh, to me) if I don't like it that 95 points is going to be my 50 pts. See?  I had some 50-70 dollar wines last Friday and I thought they were really no better than the 15-20 dollar bottles I buy. Let your taste buds and your wallet be your guide. And if you do become a serious collector you will find ample places to learn.
So tell what you like.
Quick Reply
Cancel
7 years ago  ::  Apr 14, 2008 - 9:54PM #2
shellyruff66
Yay, Boodle!  you go girl!!!:cool:
I happen to like Manichewitz(sp?) Cream Peach. $15 a bottle.  Tastes like, uh, peaches.  As far as knowledge about wine?  I got none.  A friend gave me a taste of this, and I was hooked.  I hate to admit it, but I am more of a whiskey girl.  I like the burn.  But I only drink that about 2 or 3 times a year.  The wine I can do more often, but most give me heartburn.  Not the kinda burn I like.  Any suggestions?  I think I like 'em cheap and sweet.  Thanks.  (((hugs))):)
Quick Reply
Cancel
7 years ago  ::  Apr 14, 2008 - 11:04PM #3
MsCGheartofohio