Important Announcement

See here for an important message regarding the community which has become a read-only site as of October 31.

Page 1 of 2  •  1 2 Next
Switch to Forum Live View Circuit Court Rules on Diocese of Quincy
4 years ago  ::  Sep 10, 2013 - 6:06PM #1
RJMcElwain

www.episcopalcafe.com/lead/news_reports/...

What next?
Robert J. McElwain

"The strongest reason for people to retain the right to keep and bear arms is, as a last resort, to protect themselves against tyranny in government." (Supposedly)Thomas Jefferson

"He who is not angry when there is just cause for anger is immoral."
St. Thomas Aquinas

One of the penalties for refusing to participate in politics is that you end up being governed by your inferiors. Plato
Quick Reply
Cancel
4 years ago  ::  Sep 10, 2013 - 7:20PM #2
Dutch777

Perhaps I'm reading this wrong --- I'm not a lawyer --- but doesn't the news account indicate that the property is deeded and titled to the congregational trustees ?   If so, this would appear an anomaly; usually the diocese holds deed and title in trust for the National Church. 

If deed and title are held by the trustees of the local congregation, then it would appear that they clearly own the assets at the local level.  Nicht wahr ?

The Path
To Moon
lake
Doesn't Go
There.

So Walk
Your own
DharmaPath
And Be
Mindful

Dutch
Quick Reply
Cancel
4 years ago  ::  Sep 11, 2013 - 12:33AM #3
AnglicanFirst

You're not reading it wrong.  Simply, the worm has turned.  Louisiana, South Carolina, Texas, Illinois, who's next?  The Dennis Cannon, ill advised, and under suspicion of having been legally passed, is being realized as simply a property grab, designed to punish any who wish to leave TEC, in order to prevent more from leaving TEC.

I'm having a hard time appreciating the leadership of TEC who wish to punish any who want to leave TEC.  Isn't that like the time the Soviet Union built the Berlin wall?  Tell me what's different, if there is any difference.