Switch to Forum Live View Dropping by to say hello
1 year ago  ::  Jul 24, 2013 - 2:45PM #1
SatanicStalker
I haven't been on beliefnet in months (years maybe?), but today I felt like coming over to say hello. 

I am doing quite well. I graduated college (high honors, woohoo!), spent a year in an awesome but intense internship, and I've been working a real grown-up job in the laboratory of a local hospital for two years now. I'm in the middle of my first vacation since entering the adult working world, because...

I got married three days ago! We had a lovely secular self-uniting ceremony here at our home on Sunday, then on Monday went down to the courthouse to file our declaration of marriage. After nine awesome years together, much of that long-distance, the time felt right to get married. 

And, since this is a website about beliefs, I'll also share that after ten years, I'm no longer a Satanist. It was only this past December that I figured it out. I heard and watched and read the news about the Sandy Hook shooting, cried for a few days at the horribleness of it all, then realized: if I had been there, I think chances are very high that I would have thrown myself in front of those children, my own life be damned, and more importantly, I feel it would have been right to do so. Satanism does value the lives of children very highly, but its teachings are clear that one's own life is the highest value, and should not ever be sacrificed unless doing so constitutes an indulgence (such as suicide to end suffering while battling terminal illness). Sacrificing one's own life for others in anathema to what Satanism teaches. I found one counterexample to disprove the notion that my personal beliefs agree with all of the core teachings of Satanism, therefore I am not a Satanist. Whether I was then or just thought I was is up for debate, but I don't really care to spend my time trying to figure that out.