Important Announcement

See here for an important message regarding the community which has become a read-only site as of October 31.

Switch to Forum Live View Translations of the Tao Te Ching
9 years ago  ::  Jan 19, 2009 - 2:07AM #1
publicspeakingnerd
Hi!

I am a newbie to Taoism. My interest started  with "The Tao of Pooh" and hasn't let up since.

I finally decided to read the Tao Te Ching  When i went into the bookstore I found myself dumbfounded at the many selections. Being frugal, I got the cheaper of the bunch. It was a Barnes and Noble classic with an introduction by Yi-Ping Ong.

So far i find his footnotes and introduction helpful, even if I am still a little confused (which is how it's supposed to be, right, lol).

My question is, with all the translations out there of the Tao Te Ching, is there one that's better than the other, or worse? What are your thoughts on it?
Quick Reply
Cancel
9 years ago  ::  Jan 21, 2009 - 2:55PM #2
EyesoftheWorld
I haven't read more than like 5 different translations, so this is admittedly a not-too-informed post, but I recommend Stephen Mitchell's translation to anyone who asks, and to some who don't. If there's a 'better' translation than his out there, then I'm very happy, b/c it's something for me to look forward to.
What Fatal Flowers of Darkness Bloom from Seeds of Light!
Quick Reply
Cancel
7 years ago  ::  Apr 19, 2011 - 7:26PM #3
Eisenhans

Jan 19, 2009 -- 2:07AM, publicspeakingnerd wrote: