Switch to Forum Live View Sleeping with the "enemy"
7 years ago  ::  Feb 12, 2008 - 8:11PM #1
Tamayo
So I'm not sure if this post is in the right place here on Bnet. I'm a new user, though I've been considering joining the community for a while now... I guess you could say I've been lurking for about 3-4 months now, off and on.

As I stated previously, this post might not be in the right place. It is an interfaith relationship issue, but at this point I mostly am interested in what the atheist/nonbeliever point of view is. Plus... I don't know about anyone else, but I hate getting bibled. You know, when people spew random verses at you like they actually matter and that you'll accept them as fact and therefore believe every word they say just because they quoted scripture.

Anyway, so I'm a university student, nonbeliever (I shift between atheism and agnosticism depending on the day/week), and in a strange relationship. My boyfriend of over 2 years is a devoted Catholic, with a very strong Catholic background. I too was raised in the Catholic church, though it was never a huge part of my life and I've doubted existence of a god since the age of 12 or so. Despite this, I'm a fully confirmed adult in the Church and am "allowed" to participate in Mass because of this, although I absolutely abhor going to any sort of church service since let's face it, I don't believe in it!