Page 1 of 3  •  1 2 3 Next
Switch to Forum Live View Learning about humanism
7 years ago  ::  Jan 24, 2008 - 4:42PM #1
InternetJunkie
I'm an author doing research on different types of cultures and worldviews.  Are there some basic tenets that most humanists hold to that would be a good starting point for me?  I'd like to review some foundation principles of this wordview and be able to ask questions if you all would not mind answering them.  I guess my first question would be - do you believe there is no god, we can't be sure if there is a god or not, or that it doesn't matter either way?

Another question: has humanistic philosophy been found in any primitive culture that you know of, or does it come about when a civilization is more enlightened and higher thinking?
Quick Reply
Cancel
7 years ago  ::  Jan 24, 2008 - 11:38PM #2
Jcarlinbn

InternetJunkie wrote:

I guess my first question would be - do you believe there is no god, we can't be sure if there is a god or not, or that it doesn't matter either way?

While I claim no affiliation as a humanist, I will answer your question.  Whether or not God exists is a question only an individual can answer.  God may exist for one person and not for another in the same pew.  The existence of God is completely irrelevant in my life.  If I had absolute personal proof of the existence of God it would change my life not a whit. 

I have learned a lot about living from God beliefs and believers, but for me it all comes down to If this belief is true what do I do differently now.  The answer is seldom to change my human centered life. 

Jcarlinbn, community moderator
Quick Reply
Cancel
7 years ago  ::  Jan 25, 2008 - 1:27AM #3
Mriana
You can go to the American Humanist Assoc. site to get information and even view the Humanists Manifestos I, II, and III.
Quick Reply
Cancel
7 years ago  ::  Jan 25, 2008 - 7:15AM #4
foxfell