Page 1 of 3  •  1 2 3 Next
Switch to Forum Live View Depression/Chronic Pain & Friendships
5 years ago  ::  May 24, 2009 - 3:22PM #1
Arianna

As we all suffer from depression, or some other MI, I'm wondering if anyone else has the same problem I am having. One of my best friend of 30 years called last night, we spoke, when I told her my Dr. prescribed me another medication, ie nerve pain med, she freaked out, as to ''just what you need another pill to take''

First and foremost, I suffer from clinical depression/GAD....then throw in my chronic pain in my lower back, ie, muscle spasms, shooting pain down my leg, stabbing, burning, and arthritis in both my knees. Mind you, I worked in the hospitality business for 30 years, have taken a few hard falls, thus my back problems, along with my scatica pain.

First, I DO NOT have insurance, I pay for ALL of this out of pocket, I see my Dr. once a month, and it took me YEARS to find a Dr. to FINALLY get it, and I thank God for that. My Dr. has been a BLESSING.

Do I want to take my medications, HELL yes, if it makes me feel better and have a better quality of life, I will continue to do so. So, at this point, I will SHUT my mouth and not say anything else about the medications to my friends. I'm very honest, but this is causing problems....depression + friendships.....chronic pain + friendships..............SUCK.

Julie

Quick Reply
Cancel
5 years ago  ::  May 24, 2009 - 4:31PM #2
Weeble75

{{{{{{{{{{Arianna/Julie}}}}}}}}}}

I'm writing this off the top of my head, so if I say something off-the-wall, please just skip over it.

In thinking about your friend's comment, I guess I'd have to know in what sense her comment was made to really know how to relate. A pastor friend of mine (many years ago) liked to say, "it is our INTERPRETATION of people and events that causes us to suffer." How it was intended and how you took it can vary a lot.